TORONTO – We’ve all done it – hit send on an email destined for your best friend and stare in horror as you realize it’s actually addressed to your boss. Or, worst case, hit reply all on a work email.
Luckily, for Gmail users, Google has introduced a new and possibly career-saving tool that will allow its users to “unsend” those embarrassing emails.
Dubbed “undo send” the feature will allow users to cancel sent mail immediately after sending it. You can choose to set your cancellation period between 10 and 30 seconds after sending an email.
The feature is turned off by default, so you will need to enable it in your Gmail settings if you want to use it.
Get breaking National news
To enable the feature click on the Settings menu (shown as a dark grey gear symbol) in the top right-hand corner of your inbox. Under “General” click on “Enable Undo Send” and set your cancellation period.
- AI stocks drop as tech companies call to slow down development for safety
- King Charles to discuss AI with company executives as threat fears mount
- How Google, Meta are implementing its ‘age assurance’ tech in Canada
- Anthropic CEO Dario Amodei says AI industry needs to give safety measures time to catch up
Tell us: What’s the most embarrassing, awkward e-mail you wish you could un-send?
Note: We may publish the comments you send us in future stories, or contact you if we have questions. We promise not to publish or share your contact info.
Comments
Want to discuss? Please read our Commenting Policy first.